NER-MA-007 Goddard Cadet Squadron
Main Content


Goddard Cadet Squadron Wins Third Place in a Civil Air Patrol National Aerospace Competition

Our team placed third overall in CAP's National Aerospace High Altitude Balloon Challenge and were finalists for the best science slides. There were 120 teams in the running. This is exceptional! The prize money will be shared by the six cadets on the team: 

Co-Captains: Ita Carrigg & Sweta Chandra Mohan,

Team Members: James Niall, Henry O'Brien, Rebecca Singley, and Thomas Webster.



Lt. Colonel Kevin Stuart passed away peacefully Sunday Evening, Sept 4, 2022, after a yearlong battle with an illness. Kevin was an Air Force Vet, retiring at Master Sgt. before joining Civil Air Patrol.

His service to MAWG included serving as Commander of the Quinsigamond Composite Squadron (currently Goddard Cadet Squadron - MA007) in the late 80's and again as Commander of the Lt. Colonel Frank Pocher/Minuteman Composite Squadron (MA059) in addition to serving at MAWG Headquarters. Kevin also served in Vermont Wing for a number of years.

In one of the many conversations, we had over the years, he said:

“Joining the CAP and Air Force provided me wonderful experiences coming away with life experiences and not just skills and serving within the community, teamwork, and love of the aircraft made my career. I am glad I could give back to the cadets.”

Lt Col Stuart supported many Goddard events over the years, and we thank him for all his contributions made to Goddard Cadet Squadron and Massachusetts Wing.



Keynote Speaker at the 2022 Massachusetts Wing Banquet

U.S. Army First Lieutenant Kenny H. Le, also CAP Captain within our squadron, was the keynote speaker at the 2022 Massachusetts Wing Banquet He spoke of his history in CAP, as well as of the many obstacles that he had to overcome to get accepted into the United States Military Academy at West Point.  It was inspirational and phenomenal.

Cadet Captain Maya Belliveau was the recipient of two awards:

MAWG 2022 Cadet Officer of the Year

MAWG 2022 Air Force Association Cadet of the Year

Flight Officer Dimitri McPherson was the recipient of the Frank Brewer, Sr. Civil Air Patrol Aerospace Education Award, Senior Member, MAWG

Goddard Cadet Squadron was the recipient of the Frank Brewer, Sr. Civil Air Patrol Aerospace Education Award, Organization Category, MAWG

Goddard Cadet Squadron was the recipient of the 2022 Squadron of Merit Award.  

© 2024 Civil Air Patrol. All rights reserved.